Grandmothers and What I’ve learned… 

  

It’s been a while since my last blog but I’ve been kinda busy between being sick, my daughter Emmas 10th birthday and now getting to sit with my Memaw at the hospital everyday. Read that last sentence again, I said “getting to” not “having to”. There’s a very big difference! See, I’ve been awarded time with her from God, and I plan on taking full advantage of it too! I didn’t get these extra precious days with my Mamaw because she died of a massive heart attack while I was on my way to the hospital.. a day burned into my memory that I will never forget. What I’d given for just… Time.. So I’ll begin her.. My Mamaw, Mable Irene Clayton..  


Mamaw was a one of a kind sweethearted, loving, fiesty lil woman! But there was NO doubt she was a Christian woman and how did/do I know that you ask? She gave her heart to the Lord before I was even born & She was always, I do mean always reading her bible. The only other thing I ever saw her read was the Daily Journal matter of fact! And she shared her heart & love for Christ whenever she could with others.  She gave my husband Michael his very first and only bible he’d ever owned in his life when he was 21 years old!! Funniest story… It was a Christmas present and she wanted his name on it so myself, her & Michael went into Village Green and she chose the one she liked and proceded to ask me in her “whisper voice” how to spell Michael!! Funny thing is… Her whisper voice was more like a holler! He heard her of course from across the store but acted so surprised when he opened it at Christmas! Her words to him were “Son, use it for something to remember me by if nothing else” because at the time he didn’t go to church with me. She died the following February.  

 

I know she’s happy now because it’s gotten more use than a memory of her praise God! She was my best friend and I learned so much from her, good things to carry on, things to be proud of. She wasn’t like some grandmothers I know of today who do things for spite, go against parents wishes and she had respect for my mother & daddy. I guess maybe because she was such a good woman inside and out.. Not just for show and the real truth was kept hidden. Nope… Another story is when I left my husband the first time all mad thinking I could go to her house and she’d take me in and baby me. Boy was I wrong!! I walked in that door and her words were ” you better get your butt back home young lady!” I was shocked!! I couldn’t believe she said that to ME!! But now.. Now that I’m no longer that young and dumb know it all, I’m SO thankful for her standing her ground because I know it wasn’t the easiest thing for her to say to me. It was tough love in its sweetest form. It made me love her more, a deeper love than I’ve ever known. She made sure I was always in church with her when I spent the night and guess what guys… I WANTED to go! Yep.. Kind of unheard of these days but it’s true. When she spent the night with us she went to our church, she wasn’t going to miss one place or the other that was a guarantee! She was loved by my daddys family & my memaw too, she was something and I could go on & on but on that note I’ll tell you a little about my Memaw now! 

 
She also is a strong Christian woman and has been since I’ve known her. She’s always been involved in church and present there! You could say she’s one of the pillars that built Center Hill Baptist Church! What a legacy to leave, but that’s not all! She’s the best cook I’ve EVER known! She wasn’t stingy with her cooking and food either, if someone was sick or in the hospital you could bet you were getting the good stuff! Every Christmas the big fuss was always who got more peanut butter balls in their goody bag!! Those things were like crack is to a junkie! Ha! She’s always been and still is even to the day of me writing this a super strong, enduring of much woman. She’s currently in the hospital with a newly operated on hip and is suffering from the cruelest disease I know now, Alzheimers. This morning I was beginning my day with her and noticed she was stopping breathing for a few seconds at a time and I panicked, called the nurse and had a mini melt down and she showed me what to do if she didn’t start breathing again fast enough so I was prepared. Well so then they come get her up for physical therapy and have a walker with them! I’m thinking yeah right but go ahead and try her buddy. Well she showed out y’all! That lil woman walked on that walker 3doors past hers down the hallway! My daddy was there by then and we were watching in amazement together while crying happy tears of joy! That’s the good stuff people! You can’t make that up! I was so beyond happy and so thankful but at the same time I wanted to spank her lil bony tail for pulling that breathing thing on me and then going for a little stroll down the hallway, assisted of course but she did it!! Not only that but we (my daddy & I) strolled her outside in the wheelchair to see the flowers, the sunshine & get fresh air. This day goes down in my number one greatest memories book, a day I’ll never forget not only with her but with my daddy too! Seeing him be so gentle, so loving and gentle when I’ve always known him as a rough and tough man who never cries is good for my heart and I’m a super emotional person & always have been so he’s in great company! She always along with my pepaw took us to church if my parents didn’t go. She loves the Lord and like my Mamaw took every opportunity to tell and show it. She’ll still ask you “where do you go to church?” So you better have one! Both of these women in my life are the reason I’ve fought for my relationship and marriage(s) to Michael. They were both firm believers in not getting a divorce because it’s biblical. Mamaws husband passed away when my mom was 3, but Memaw endured struggles with my Pepaw before he let the Lord help him but she stayed and never left ever! I have the utmost respect for these women who helped shape & teach me. 

 
I’ve learned from them how to cook the good stuff and be a grandmother if God chooses that for me someday to be. And I’m thankful for lessons from others about how NOT to be! I can promise you that I will never go behind my girls backs to make my grandchildren happy, try to gain them or their love by making them “happy” or buying their love instead of doing the things that I can be proud of like these grandmothers have done in my own life. I want to leave the legacies like they have left and are leaving for everyone to one day remember me by too! I’ll close pn that note and just say I love & miss you Mamaw & I love and cherish my God given time with you Memaw, you both have this granddaughters heart and I’m blessed God gave me the two of you!!  

In His love..💜💞💜 

Leave a comment